top of page

Podcast in education ?

I recently read the article "Using Podcasts as Audio Learning Objects" by Zeynel Cebeci and Mehmet Tekdal. When I first began reading the article I thought to myself that I really dont have much experience with podcasts. Then it dawned on me as I kept reading that if a podcast is really anything audio fed through the internet then I actually do have some experience with podcasting! I remember being in middle school and learning for the first time that I was able to download music through the internet. At that time the internet was dial up and I had to make sure everyone was off the phone so I can use the ethernet connection (wow I feel old). The first form of podcasts that I was introduced to was Napster. I was able to download as much music as I wanted and I was obsessed. As the article states, "The basic advantage of podcasting in education is the portability and convenience of listening to learning recources anytime and anywhere without requiring extensive technical knowledge". I think podcasting could be a great tool in the classroom amongst many tools that are currently at our finertips with technology. However it could also be very boring especially if your using the audio file for a younger group of students. With the technology that is out today, podcasting can grab people's attention alot quicker. Even more recently is mobile videocasting which is another emerging technology that can help to engage students and keep them actively learning and interested in your class outside of the classroom.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page