top of page

Web 2.0

I recently read an article from edtechtimes.com titled "How the internet is revolutionizing education". It read that online education began in 1971 in England broadcasting lectures on television. Since that initial breakthrough, online education is now a thirty four BILLION dollar industry. "Not everyone is in it for the money either: for profit and non-profit institutions alike are revolutionizing the way we learn". Did you know that at least half of all college students take at least one class online? and there are 25,000 online courses offered in the U.S alone. Web 1.0 is described as a time where the internet was a tool where people would generally just research, watch live and pre-recorded broadcasting, and gained valuable information. It was really a one dimenasional enviornment, that is until web 2.0 started to revolutionize the internet in a whole new way. Now people can share information as well as research it creating a tutor and tutee situation. The internet now is extremely dynamic and there is a web of information crossing paths through hundreds of channels worldwide. This has changed the way we recieve and send information. For example, recently I needed to get a suit tailored for a wedding that I am attending. Before this era of technology I would either walked into any old place or I would have had to heard from a friend and if I didnt, well then I may be showing up to a wedding with one pant leg shorter then the other. Now all I have to do as a consumer is go on yelp and read reviews from hundreds of people's experiences. I can see location, prices, hours, and how long they have been in buisness right on my phone which will help me make a much more educated decision. What are some ways the internet and technology has shifted your way of learning?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page